AMACHI TEXAS

A POSITIVE PATH FOR CHILDREN OF PROMISE

“Amachi” – a Nigerian Ibo word meaning
“Who knows what God has brought us through this child”

About AMACHI

More than five million children across the U.S. have a parent in prison. Children with 1-2 incarcerated parents have a 70-90% chance of ending up in prison themselves and are more likely to face immense challenges including cycles of poverty, abuse, academic failure, dropping out of school, and even incarceration themselves. Amachi mentoring supports children could greatly benefit from one more supportive, caring adult in their lives to help them reach their full potential and thrive as productive members of society.

Breaking the Cycle


Children with 1 or 2 parents incarcerated have a 70-90% chance of ending up in prison themselves.

Children referred to the Juvenile Justice System in an active match since 2011

Youth incarceration in the state of Texas costs nearly 100 TIMES MORE annually than mentoring at Big Brothers Big Sisters.

0

Annual Cost of Youth Incarceration

0

Annual Cost of Mentoring

AMACHI TEXAS - AFFILIATES

LEAD AGENCY
Big Brothers Big Sisters Lone Star
450 E. John Carpenter Fwy., Suite 300
Irving, Texas 75062

For Child/Volunteer inquiries & info:
Lyndsey Gentry, Director of Intake & Matching
lgentry@bbbstx.org
888-887-2447, ext. 488

For Partnership questions:
Michael O’Teter, Chief Program Officer
moteter@bbbstx.org
888-887-2447, ext. 119

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Texas
4800 Manor Rd.
Austin, TX 78723
www.BigMentoring.org

Adriana Adams, Enrollment Supervisor
adadams@bigmentoring.org
512-807-3646

 

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Lubbock
3416 Knoxville Avenue
Lubbock, TX 79413
www.bbbslubbock.org

Debra Gonzales, Program Director
Debra.gonzales@bbbslubbock.org
806-763-6131

Big Brothers Big Sisters of South Texas
10843 Gulfdale
San Antonio, TX 78216
www.bigmentor.org

Armen Babajanian, COO
armen@bigmentor.org

 

Big Brothers Big Sisters of the Texas Panhandle
2110 S. Western
Amarillo, TX 79109
www.bbbstxpan.org

Child Inquiries – Jason Miller – Jason.Miller@bbbstxpan.org

 

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Hereford, Inc.
244 Main St/ PO Box 1821
Hereford, TX 79045
www.bbbshereford.org

Sara Pesina, Executive Director – sara@bbbshereford.org
806-364-6171; 806-364-6172-Fax

Big Brothers Big Sisters of El Paso
1724 Wyoming Street
El Paso, TX 79902
www.bbbsep.org

Annette Baumann, Executive Vice President – abaumann@bbbsofep.org
915-544-4203, ext. 102; 915-544-4368-Fax

 

Gulf Coast Big Brothers Big Sisters, Inc.
1413 Tremont Street
Galveston, TX 77550
www.mentorsgc.org

Helga Patterson, Program Director – hpatterson@gulfcoastbbbs.org
409-763-4638; 409-765-9886-Fax